Skip to main content

Storm claim title at home tournament

Lead Summary

The MBA boys hockey team earned the championship at the Storm Hockey Classic last Tuesday and Wednesday at the Benson Civic Center.
The Storm routed Park Rapids in the first game last Tuesday afternoon, 7-2, and then edged MayPort Area in an overtime shootout last Wednesday, 4-3.
MBA improved to 4-5-1 overall with the win and tie.  In high school hockey, if the game is tied after overtime, it officially is a tie, but a shootout was needed to determine the tournament champion.
This week, the Storm were set to play at Prairie Centre, Tuesday (yesterday) before hosting Wahpeton-Breckenridge, Thursday (tomorrow) at Morris, and skating at MayPort Area, Friday.
MBA 7, Park Rapids 2
The Storm scored four goals in the first period and three more in the second to beat Park Rapids, 7-2, in the opening game of the Storm Hockey Classic.
Kaleb Breuer, Brett Hansen, Cole Blume, and Ryan Tolifson scored over a 10-minute span in the first period to put the Storm up 4-1 after one period.
In the second, Cole Blume, Brady DeHaan, and Levi Gunlogson scored to up the Storm lead to 7-1 before Park Rapids scored the only goal of the final period.
Earning assists for MBA were Gunlogson, Breuer, Hansen, Hunter LeClair, DeHaan, Cole Blume, Blake Bruns, and Logan Hadfield.
Chris Danielson earned the victory in goal for the Storm, who outshot the visitors 32-19.
MBA 3, MayPort 3
The Storm claimed the holiday tourney title with a 4-3 shoot out win over MayPort in the championship game last Wednesday at the Benson Civic Center.
The Storm scored the first goal on a goal by Brady DeHaan 5:57 into the game with assists going to Chris Halvorson and Cole Blume.
MayPort took control of the game in the second period, scoring three goals to go up 3-1 after two periods.
In the third, Cole Blume scored an unassisted goal at the 3:52 mark to cut the deficit to 3-2, and Ryan Tolifson tied up the game with 32 seconds left in regulation to send the game to overtime.  Assisting on the Tolifson goal were Brett Hansen and Tim Blume.
In overtime, neither team hit the back of the net despite six shots by MayPort and three by the Storm, but in the shootout, the Storm prevailed 4-3 to earn the tournament title.
Chris Danielson earned the save in net for the Storm, stopping 27 shots.  MBA had 24 shots on the MayPort net.
For more on this story, subscribe to the Monitor-News and support community journalism.

Sign up for News Alerts

Subscribe to news updates