Skip to main content

Westrom wins new District 12 Senate seat

Lead Summary

Republican Torrey Westrom easily won election to the new District 12 state Senate seat defeating Democratic-Farmer-Labor (DFL) candidate Kari Dorry.
Westrom, of Alexandria, defeated the Ortonville Democrat 26,179 to 10,813.
We The People Party candidate Ashley Klingbeil, who had challenged Westrom’s residency in the district, received 1,485 votes, or 3.86%.
The new Senate District 12 includes all of Stevens, Big Stone, Swift, and Pope counties. It also includes the nine southeast townships of Douglas County, including the City of Alexandria. It adds 16 western townships of Stearns County.
Candidate                           Votes          Percent
Torrey Westrom                               26,179               68.01%
Kari Dorry                                            10,813               28.09%
Ashley Klingbeil                                1,485                  3.86%


Sign up for News Alerts

Subscribe to news updates