Skip to main content

Saints win Melrose wrestling Invitational

The KMS wrestling team opened up the  season with the team title at the 8-team Melrose Invitational.  The Saints had six firsts and three seconds on the way to the team title by 47.5 points over runner-up Osakis.  
The Saints, who finished 14-4 overall last year, were ranked 12th in the early-season Class A poll.  In addition, Zach Carlson, who has lost just one match in each of the last two seasons, is ranked first at 170 pounds in the state.
Next up is a triangular at Willmar, Tuesday (yesterday) followed by the Willmar Invitational, Friday.
Melrose Tourney
The Saints had nine wrestlers finish in the top two of their respective weight class on the way to repeating as the Melrose Tourney team champions.
KMS easily won the 8-team title with 225.5 points, followed by Osakis in second (178 points), Sartell-St. Stephen in third (143) and Champlin Park in fourth (142).
Winning titles for the Saints were Jon Tostenson at 126 pounds, Derek Krieger at 132, Nick Meyer at 138, Jordan Engler at 152, Zach Carlson at 182, and Colton Kinney at heavyweight.
In addition, KMS picked up three second place finishes.

Sign up for News Alerts

Subscribe to news updates