Magaard one of eight Saints with at least 20 wins this year

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
admin's picture
Will Magaard (left) became the sixth KMS wrestler to win a state wrestling gold medal.  He was also one of eight Saints this year with at least 20 wins.

Will Magaard’s state wrestling title capped another great season of wrestling for the KMS wrestling program.  The Saints went 14-6 this year, losing to LPGE-Browerville in the Section 5A finals, 42-15, but sending five wrestlers to the state tourney, including Magaard, who went 4-0 to claim the 106-pound gold medal.

Magaard was ranked first for most of the season at 106 pounds, but wrestled for most of the year at 120 pounds to accommodate a couple of younger wrestlers.

KMS had four wrestlers on this year’s team that have reached 100 career wins.  Seniors Caleb Collins and Jon Tostenson will graduate as members of the KMS 100-win club, while junior Dylan Rudningen and sophomore Will Magaard will return next season for the Saints.

Collins will graduate with 166 career wins, putting him seventh on the all-time list, while Tostenson will graduate with 155 victories, placing him 10th overall.

Rudningen has 126 career victories and should also crack the top-10 by the time he graduates, while Magaard has 118 career victories and could possibly become the third KMS wrestler to reach 200 career wins by the time he graduates.

Magaard highlighted the 2017-18 season for the KMS wrestling team by becoming the sixth Saint to win a state wrestling title.

Also qualifying to state this season were Caleb Collins (145), Jon Tostenson (138), Ryan Torkelson (195), and Dylan Rudningen (152).  It was the third-straight state individual tournament berth for Rudningen and Magaard, and the second for Collins.

Collins lost his first match and was eliminated, Tostenson and Torkelson both went 0-2, and Rudningen was 2-2 overall to tie for seventh.

Scott Wilts won the first KMS state wrestling title in 1990, Justin Baker won a state title in 1996, Kevin Steinhaus won three-straight in 2007, 2008, and, 2009, Mitch Hagen also won a state title in 2009, and Joel Bauman won two state titles in 2009 and 2010....


For more on this story, and to keep up on all the latest in area sports, subscribe to the Swift County Monitor-News print edition or our PDF internet edition. Call 320-843-4111 and you can get all the local news and sports delivered to you!

Pictured: Will Magaard (left) became the sixth KMS wrestler to win a state wrestling gold medal.  He was also one of eight Saints this year with at least 20 wins.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet