Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
admin's picture

Benson High School Media Center

The organizational meeting was called to order at 5:33 p.m. by Acting Chair Chad Payne.

Members present: Jodi DeJong-Hughes, Mary KW Langan, Bill McGeary, Chad Payne and Gary Williams

Members absent: Paul Carruth

Also present: Dennis Laumeyer, Brad Johnson, Mike Knutson, Dave Benson, Pam Anderson, Tammy Gunlogson, Reed Anfinson


The board approved the following school board positions: Chad Payne for Chairperson; Gary Williams for Vice-Chair; Mary KW Langan for Clerk; and Bill McGeary for Treasurer.

The board approved to hold regular meetings on January 22, February 20, March 19, April 16, May 14, June 18, July 16, August 20, September 17, October 15, November 12, December 17 and work sessions on April 9, August 6 and December 4 at 5:30 p.m. or rescheduled as necessary, held in the Benson High School Media Center or as determined at appropriate locations by administration. The board designated Swift County Monitor-News as the official newspaper.

The board approved all Minnesota Depositories plus PMA Financial and Minnesota Liquid Asset Fund and Edward Jones designated as Depositories.

The board authorized the Business Manager to make electronic funds transfers and authorize the Superintendent and Business Manager to apply for Federal, State and other programs.

The board named Swift County-Benson Health Services as the official school physicians on call.

The board authorized the Superintendent or Board Chairperson to select an attorney as needed at their discretion.

The board set the School Board members salaries and expenses as follows: $1,000/year; Chairperson $1,200/year; Clerk $1,000/ year; Treasurer $0/year; Special Meetings $50; Special Meetings longer than 4 hours $100; and mileage at IRS rate.

The board approved committee assignments designated by the Chair as presented with one change.

The board approved Gary Williams to continue employment by the school district.

The consent agenda was approved as presented.

The roles of the school board and the superintendent were reviewed.

The board approved paying for the junior’s ACT test with writing at $61 each for the 2017-2018 school year.

A timeline for 2018 Special Elections was provided. If the board decides on a May 8th election date the resolution must be passed by February 23rd. The Board is seeking help from the community with four separate committees meeting on January 29, 30 and 31 at scheduled times. The focus will start on the junior high auditorium and moving on from there.


$100 for 2018 Benson Sidekicks Tae Kwon Do Scholarship from Llewellyn & Joyce Nokleby

Donations for Bill Orr Memorial Scholarship: $25 from Duane & Lilla Talge; $25 from Carol & Jerry Peterson; $60 from Niels Hansen; $60 from Anna Marie Eilos; $68 from Alan & Margaret Rice

$1,500 for Agnes Olson and Esther Olson Memorial Scholarships ($750 each) from Eileen Sytsman

Future Meetings:
Regular Meeting January 22, 5:30 p.m., Senior High Media Center Regular Meeting February 20, 5:30 p.m., Senior High Media Center

The meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m.
Business and Report Items: Document Reference (
filed with orig
inal minutes)
Copies of documents presented for action and report purposes are
located in the district office as prepared for permanent record and posted on the school website at www.benson.k12.mn.us

Mary KW Langan, Clerk


Rate this article: 
No votes yet