Mayor, two council seats to be on ballot

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
admin's picture

Next Tuesday City of Benson voters will go to the polls to elect a new mayor and two members to the council.

Current Mayor Gary Landmark, who served 24 years as a member of the city council and is completing his first two-year term as mayor, is not seeking re-election. Also not seeking re-election is Council Member Stephanie Heinzig who was elected to her first four-year term in November 2013.

Council Member Terri Collins is running for mayor and is being challenged by Anita Flodstrom.

Five candidates seeking election to the council: Incumbent Jack Evenson, Mark Schreck, Brad Johnson, Terry Flodstrom and Larry Smith.

If Collins is elected mayor, she will continue to serve in her city council seat until Jan. 2 when she would be sworn in as mayor. If she becomes mayor, that would leave a vacancy on the council. Council members would then decide whether to conduct a special election to fill the seat or appoint someone to fill the remaining two years in Collin’s term.

If Collins loses the mayoral election, she would continue to serve as a member of the council for another two years.

The fifth member of the council is Lucas Olson who won his seat in a special election Jan. 10 to complete the three years left in Jonathon Pogge-Weaver’s term....

Benson’s City Council meets the first and third Monday of the month with meetings generally lasting between a half hour and one-and-a-half hours. Members of the council also serve on advisory boards and commissions that include the Housing and Redevelopment Authority, the Economic Development Authority, the Swift County-Benson Health Services governing board, the Park Board, Planning Commission, Cemetery Board and Airport Commission....


For more on this story, and to keep up on all the latest in area news, subscribe to the Swift County Monitor-News print edition or our PDF internet edition. Call 320-843-4111 and you can get all the local news and sports delivered to you!

Rate this article: 
No votes yet