Ascheman, Berreau, Wieber, Zosel and Koosmann top Benson wrestling team

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/swiftcounty/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
admin's picture

The Benson wrestling team announced the season-ending awards at its annual wrestling banquet Sunday at the Benson Bowler.  The Braves went 8-13 this season, earning the second-most wins for the program in last 10 years and most since a 9-8 record in 2008-2009.
The Braves picked up wins over Prairie Valley, Minnewaska Area, Ortonville twice, Paynesville twice, Howard Lake-WW, and BOLD, while also losing close matches to Sauk Centre-Melrose, and Morris Area-CA.  
Benson also picked up two tournament wins, placing first at the five-team Braves Wrestling Classic and the 11-team Parkers Prairie Invitational.
“We had an improved season with a great core of returning wrestlers, including five seniors that went a combined 86-87,” said head coach Randy Weber.  “Special thanks to our managers for doing all the behind-the-scenes work to keep the team running smoothly; Kali Geyer, Brayden Haugen, Madisen Wieber, and Mackenzie Kurkosky.”
Seniors lost to graduation from this year’s Benson team, coached by head coach Randy Weber and assistants Nathan Waslaski, Steve Ricard, Pat O’Leary, Scott Thompson, and Joe Weber, are Matt Wieber, Trevor Berreau, RJ Hogrefe, Tyler Smith, Kyle Wrobleski, and Dakota Watkins.  Two of those seniors -- Kyle Wrobleski and Matt Wieber -- were awarded six-year wrestling awards.


Photo: Grant Ascheman (right) could be the next Benson wrestler to reach 100 career wins next season.  He has 92 career victories and was selected as the Most Dedicated Wrestler for the 2014-2015 season.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet