November 2015

admin's picture

City commits funds to golf club

Benson’s Golf Club will get its credit line paid off at the end of the year and a $60,000 cash infusion for operations for 2016.

That credit line draw, which could go as high as $150,000, is at around $115,000 today and could be as high as $130,000 by Dec. 31. The city council unanimously approved the expenditures at its meeting Monday night.

While Benson’s Golf Club is currently managed by a board of directors elected annually by the membership, the facility belongs to the City of Benson.

admin's picture

November starts with warm days

Bill Dethloff putts on the 16th green at the Benson Golf Course Monday affernoon as the high hit 68 degrees. The average high for Nov. 2 is 49 degrees. Joining Dethloff are Paul Tatge, center, and Steve Collins.

Though Monday’s high of 68 was the warmest Nov. 2 high since it hit 70 degrees back in 2008, it was still 7 degrees short of the record high of 75 degrees set in 1978.

Tuesday the high hit 70 degrees in Benson, 5 degrees below the Nov. 3 record high of 76 degrees set in 1978. Wednesday the National Weather Service was forecasting a high of 67 degrees with much cooler temperatures coming Thursday with the high reaching 54 degrees but then falling through the day to a low of 34 degrees. Highs the rest of the week are in the 40s.

The average high for the first few days of November is 48 degrees with a low of 29 degrees. The month averages 5.21 inches of snow.

admin's picture

Landmark, Collins, Pogge-Weaver win election to city council

Gary Lanmark won the mayoral election by 8 votes.

Former Benson City Council Member Gary Landmark won a very narrow victory over attorney Tara Ulmaniec in Tuesday’s election for mayor.

Landmark won by just eight votes, 394 to 386.

Terri Collins and Jonathon Pogge-Weaver were the top two voter getters in the race for two open seats on the Benson council among the six candidates in the field.


Terri Collins                           479

Jonathon Pogge-Weaver             359

Mike Fugleberg                        296

Dennis Minor                          190

Larry Smith                             123

Don Krumwiede                       94